Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

School News

List of Federal Universities in Nigeria 2022

Just as you asked, we have brought to you the updated list of federal universities in Nigeria and their year of establishment. As an aspirant or student, it is important to know and have enough knowledge and information about the Federal Universities in Nigeria.

Meanwhile, we have provided you with the list of accredited Nigerian Federal Universities below. So, stick around as we walk you through the list.

List of Federal Universities in Nigeria

Important: You will see more info about these schools when you click on the university. Also, more info is contained in the respective pages.

Federal Universities in Nigeria

  1. University of Ibadan, Ibadan (UI) 1948

  2. University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) 1960

  3. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (OAU) 1962

  4. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria (ABU) 1962

  5. University of Lagos, Lagos (UNILAG) 1962

  6. University of Benin, Benin City (UNIBEN) 1970

  7. Bayero University, Kano (BUK) 1975

  8. University of Calabar, Calabar (UNICAL) 1975

  9. University of Ilorin, Ilorin (UNILORIN) 1975

  10. University of Jos, Jos (UNIJOS) 1975

  11. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri (UNIMAID) 1975

  12. Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto (UDUSOK) 1975

  13. University of Port-Harcourt, Port-Harcourt (UNIPORT) 1975

  14. Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO) 1980

  15. Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA) 1981

  16. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola (MAUTECH) 1981

  17. Federal University of Technology, Minna (FUTMINNA) 1982

  18. Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna (NDA) 1985

  19. University of Abuja, Abuja (UNIABUJA) 1988

  20. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi (ATBU) 1988

  21. University of Agriculture, Makurdi (UAM) 1988

  22. Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB) 1988

  23. University of Uyo, Uyo (UNIUYO) 1991

  24. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka (UNIZIK) 1992

  25. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike (MOUAU) 1992

  26. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos (NOUN) 2002

  27. Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun (FUPRE) 2007

  28. Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State (FULOKOJA) 2011

  29. Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State (FULAFIA) 2011

  30. Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State (FUKASHERE) 2011

  31. Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State (FUWUKARI) 2011

  32. Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina State (FUDMA) 2011

  33. Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State (FUD) 2011

  34. Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State (FUNAI) now called Alex Ekwueme Federal University Ndufu-Alike Ikwo (AE-FUNAI). 2011

  35. Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State (FUOYE) 2011

  36. Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa (FUOTUOKE) 2011

  37. The Nigeria Police Academy, Wudil, Kano State (NPA) 2012

  38. Federal University, Birnin-Kebbi, Kebbi (FUBK) 2013

  39. Federal University, Gusau, Zamfara (FUGUS) 2013

  40. Federal University, Gashua, Yobe (FUGASHUA) 2013

  41. Nigeria Maritine University Okerenkoko, Delta State 2018

  42. Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna 2018

  43. Nigerian Army University, Biu (NAUB) – 2018

The above is the list of Federal universities in Nigeria. kindly leave a reply in the comment section below and don’t hesitate to share this post using the share icons.

Info: If you found this article helpful, kindly drop a comment below this article. If you think this post can be helpful to somebody else, please share it using the share-buttons above!!!. | Follow us on Twitter @Shoreloop. | Like us on Facebook.

Written By

I just love sharing educational and useful info to people and also I'm a game freak.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like


Make Money For Your Tiktok Videos With Tiktok has created a new feature called SoundOn. Using this new function, artists can utilize TikTok...


SEPLAT Undergraduate Scholarship 2022/2023 for University student Is Ongoing. This is to inform the general public that Seplat Scholarship 2022 is Out. The SEPLAT...


Through David Nweze Umahi University of Medical Sciences, Ebonyi State Government is offering one year scholarship to six candidates from each of the thirty...

School News

Osun State Schools of Nursing and Midwifery Releases 2022 Basic Nursing Exam Results – TEAM PLATO REPORTS ...