Egbewole becomes the new Vice Chancellor of the University of Ilorin

Egbewole becomes the new Vice Chancellor of the University of Ilorin

The new Vice Chancellor of the University of Ilorin is Prof. Wahab Egbewole

The tenure of the incumbent and the 10th Vice-Chancellor of the university, Prof Sulyman Age AbdulKareem, ends on 15 October 2022.

The 13 candidates shortlisted for the plumbing job will face an interview panel between 6 and 7 September 2022.

The candidates are Professors Hassan Saliu, Olanrewaju Adedoyin, AbdulBaqi AbdulRahim, Wahab Egbewole, Olugbenga Mokuolu, AbdulRaheem Mahmoud and Bashiru Raji.
Others are Professors Katibi Ibraheem, Mikhail Buhari, Mohammed Ibrahim, Isaac Adimula, Babatunde Solagberu and Suleiman Ambali.
In addition to prof. AbdulBaqi AbdulRahim and Prof Babatunde Solagberu who are external candidates from the University of Maiduguri and Lagos State University respectively, are other applicants staff of the university of Ilorin.
Meanwhile, the alumni association of the University of Ilorin has called for a level playing field that will ensure the emergence of the best candidate for the office of the vice chancellor.
In a statement by its National President, Dr. Olawale Fasakin and Assistant General Secretary, Dr. Lai Oparinde, the association urged the institution’s authorities to avoid ethnic and religious sentiment in the selection of the next Vice-Chancellor.
It warned that it will monitor the process to certify compliance with existing rules and ensure that nothing is done to favor any candidate on the basis of ethnicity or religion.
The association said its warning became necessary in light of the crises that dog the selection of new vice-chancellors in the country and to ensure that only the best candidate emerges.

Leave a Reply
You May Also Like