6 Creative Writing Scholarships to Apply For

Creative Writing Scholarships

Are you passionate about creative writing? If so, you may want to look into some of the scholarship opportunities out there.

Scholarships are a great way to help pay for college and make pursuing your dreams a reality. To help you get started, here is a list of creative writing scholarships to apply for.

Each of these scholarships provides an opportunity for aspiring writers to gain financial assistance for their studies, so take a look and see if any of them might be a good fit for you!

1) The YoungArts Foundation Scholarship

Creative Writing Scholarships

The YoungArts Foundation is a nonprofit organization that recognizes, supports and rewards the next generation of emerging young artists across all disciplines.

The foundation offers writing scholarships to high school students in the United States to support them in pursuing their artistic and creative endeavors.

The scholarship includes cash prizes, career guidance, college counseling, professional development opportunities and access to influential people in the field.

This is a great opportunity for students interested in writing scholarships who wish to further their education and professional goals.

2) The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards

The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards are one of the most prestigious awards for creative writing.

Founded in 1923, these awards recognize creative teens in grades 7-12 for their works in various art forms, including poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. There are also special awards and scholarships that can be won.

The award is open to both public and private school students, as well as home-schooled students.

Entrants submit works in 28 different categories, such as short stories, poetry, comic art, and photography.

Winning pieces are showcased in the annual Scholastic Art and Writing Awards exhibit. Winners also receive national recognition, monetary awards, and access to exclusive scholarships.

For more information about the awards and how to apply, visit the Scholastic website.

3) The Jean Toomer Prize for Literary Arts

The Jean Toomer Prize for Literary Arts is an annual literary award given to an emerging writer who has completed an original work of literature that demonstrates unique artistic merit.

The prize is open to writers from all nationalities, ages, and backgrounds and includes both fiction and non-fiction works.

Named after the American modernist poet and novelist, Jean Toomer, the award is a $5,000 cash prize and publication of the winning work in the Southern Humanities Review (SHR) journal.

To be eligible for the Jean Toomer Prize, writers must have never published a book-length work of fiction or nonfiction.

Entrants may submit either a single work or multiple works that total no more than 15,000 words.

All genres are accepted, including prose, poetry, and plays. However, the work must be original and unpublished.

Each year, the SHR editorial staff selects one winner from the pool of entries and invites them to write a featured article for the journal.

The winner will receive a $5,000 cash prize and their work will be published in SHR. They will also receive a one-year subscription to the journal.

The Jean Toomer Prize for Literary Arts seeks to recognize and support emerging writers from all backgrounds and offers them the opportunity to share their unique perspectives with readers around the world.

4) The James Jones First Novel Fellowship

The James Jones First Novel Fellowship is a unique award that provides an opportunity for emerging novelists to complete their first full-length novel.

The fellowship was created in 1998 by the James Jones Literary Society to honor the legacy of James Jones, an American novelist whose writing explored the complexities of World War II and its aftermath.

The annual fellowship includes a $10,000 cash award and publication of the novel through an established book publisher. It is open to any writer over the age of 18 who has not yet published a novel.

The applicant must submit a manuscript of at least 75,000 words along with a letter of recommendation from a professional in the publishing industry.

Finalists may also be invited to attend a retreat hosted by the Society in order to further develop their craft and network with other authors.

In addition to the fellowship award, the winner will have their book published and receive guidance and advice from experienced authors, publishers, and agents in the publishing industry.

This is a great opportunity for emerging writers to have their work recognized and get their first novel published.

5) The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is one of the most prestigious awards for creative writing. Established in 1981, this annual award honors the best fiction written by an American author during the previous year.

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction seeks to recognize excellence in fiction writing, regardless of genre, style, or subject matter.

Each year, the Award is administered by the PEN/Faulkner Foundation and judged by three distinguished writers chosen by the Director of the Award.

The winner receives a cash prize of $15,000, while five finalists each receive $5,000. In addition, the winner and five finalists are honored at an annual awards ceremony in Washington, DC.

If you’re a fiction writer looking for recognition and a hefty financial prize, then the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is definitely worth considering.

The annual submission period runs from June 1st through December 31st, with winners announced in May the following year.

Be sure to check out the eligibility criteria on their website before submitting your work. Good luck!

6) The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Award

Creative Writing Scholarships

The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Award was established in 1995 to recognize and celebrate emerging women writers.

The award is given out each year to six female authors who demonstrate exceptional talent in the early stages of their writing career.

Recipients of this award are given a $25,000 grant to help them further their writing careers.

Additionally, each recipient will have the chance to attend a two-week writer’s retreat in Wyoming, as well as participate in other events designed to promote their work.

Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents, and they must be aged 18 or older to apply. Writers may submit fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama, but they must not have published more than two books.

The submission period for this award usually opens in early fall and closes in mid-spring. All applications must be submitted online, and the selected recipients will be announced by July.

If you’re an aspiring female writer looking for support and recognition for your work, the Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Award is a great opportunity for you!

Leave a Reply
You May Also Like